Why?

This weekend I, like many others, learned of the horrific acts of violence in Paris. I learned of tragedy and more tragedy, around the world. Again. 

The blog I was planning to write didn’t happen. So many questions, the foremost being, “why?” What do these attacks achieve, other than heartache and pain? 

Like a child I keep asking, “Why?”

When children ask, “Why? Why? Yes, but Why?” is it because they are as perplexed at the world as I am today?

And what do we say to our children when they ask about the awful things that happen in the world? How do we explain that the world is not the beautiful place we want it to be?

I am consumed by thoughts for all the families. Parents have lost children. Children have lost parents. Siblings have lost brothers and sisters. Grandparents, aunts, uncles, cousins, friends, and co-workers have been brutally taken. Families have been irrevocably changed; damaged. How can this be anyone’s victory? 

Why?

There is no reason. There is only hope. That hope is our children. 

As I type this, I look at my son playing. I gaze at him and know that parenting is not about bedtime routines or limiting screen time; parenting is love. Parenting is about sending our kids into the world to brighten it. It is our job, to help our kids be a promise of a better, safer, more beautiful world. 

One thought on “Why?

Leave a Reply

